You are here

Court Information

John L. Medearis, Clerk of Court

800 Market Street, Suite 130
Knoxville, TN 37902
Phone: (865) 545-4228

Hours of Operation

All three offices are open to the public Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., except for legal holidays. Knoxville, Chattanooga and Greeneville are in the Eastern time zone.
The Clerk's Office will not be open for business on Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays. Legal holidays are:
  • New Year's Day
  • Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.
  • Washington's Birthday
  • Memorial Day
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Columbus Day
  • Veterans Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Christmas Day
The Eastern District of Tennessee is one of 94 federal court districts in the United States. Each district operates separately. Our district has jurisdiction in 41 East Tennessee counties, reaching generally from Bristol on the north to Chattanooga on the south.  There are four divisions of the Eastern District of Tennessee, and we have offices in each of those divisions, at Greeneville, Knoxville, Chattanooga, and Winchester. The Knoxville office serves as the headquarters for the district.

The nine districts in the states of Tennessee, Kentucky, Ohio and Michigan make up the Sixth Circuit. There are 13 circuits in the United States Court system.