# EASTERN DISTRICT OF TENNESSEE COMMITTEES

# **External Committees**

### Local Rules Advisory Committee

Experienced civil and criminal lawyers from throughout the district in both private and government practice serve on the Local Rules Advisory Committee. The committee studies and suggests amendments to the rules, and it also reviews and comments on local-rule amendments under consideration by the Court.

Donald J. Aho (Chair)

Ibrahim Berro

Alice K. Corker

Gerald L. Ewell, Jr.

Torrey M. Feldman

Nakeisha Jackson

Jerry W. Laughlin

Karissa H. Range

Leah McClanahan

Kyle J. Wilson

### **Ex Officio:**

Chris Field

Lindsey Lyle

### **Committees on Attorney Admissions**

A standing Committee on Attorney Admissions serves each division of the Court. Each committee reviews the qualifications of new applicants seeking admission in that division and reports to the Court pursuant to Local Rule 83.5.

Chattanooga	Greeneville	Knoxville
Harry R. Cash (Chair)	F. Braxton Terry (Chair)	Wade E. Davies (Chair)
Ariel Anthony	E. Lynn Dougherty	R. Kim Burnette

	Olen G. Haynes, Jr.	Amanda M. Busby
Jenna W. Fullerton	Sandra B. Jelovsek	Steve Cook
Russell W. Gray	Jessica C. McAfee	Edward G. Phillips
Zac H. Greene	Jimmie C. Miller	Adam M. Priest
Ellie M. Hill		Howard H. Vogel
Steven M. Jacoway		
John Jackson		
C. Scott Johnson		
Myrlene Marsa		
Richard C. Rose		
Steven E. Smith		
Carrie A. Stefaniak		
Travis R. Thompson		

## **Criminal Justice Act Panel-Selection Committees**

A committee in each division reviews and considers applications from attorneys seeking to serve on the Criminal Justice Act Panel for that division. The committee also assesses whether attorneys will continue to serve on the CJA Panel.

Chattanooga	Greeneville	Knoxville
Hon. Charles E. Atchley, Jr. (Chair)	Hon. Clifton L. Corker (Chair)	Hon. Katherine A. Crytzer (Chair)
Hon. Michael J. Dumitru	Hon. Cynthia R. Wyrick	Hon. Debra C. Poplin
Gianna Maio	Gianna Maio	Gianna Maio
Robert R. Kurtz	Robert R. Kurtz	Robert R. Kurtz
Jamie Varnell	Douglas L. Payne	Rachel L. Wolf
C. Gene Shiles, Jr.		
<b>Ex Officio:</b> Chris Field Lindsey Lyle	<b>Ex Officio:</b> Chris Field Lindsey Lyle	<b>Ex Officio:</b> Chris Field Lindsey Lyle

### **Court Technology Advisory Committee**

Attorneys from across the district and from diverse practices serve on the Court Technology Advisory Committee. The committee advises the Court on how technology can most effectively promote the administration of justice; helps the Court devise policies governing the use of technology within the courthouses; and supports the Court's efforts to educate the bar concerning its use of technology.

David Disney (Chair)

Hon. Christopher H. Steger

John C. ("Jack") Burgin, Jr.

Michael Curtis Collins

Jeremy Dykes

Chris Field

Cameron Kuhlman

Lane E. McCarty

Clinton P. Sanko

LeAnna R. Wilson

### **Civics-Education and Outreach Committee**

Representatives of the Court, bar associations, and practicing attorneys serve on the Court's Civics-Education and Outreach Committee to promote civics education, with a focus on the role and function of the federal judiciary in our democracy. The committee works to advance the civicseducation mission set forth by the Sixth Circuit's Civics Education and Outreach Committee.

Hon. Curtis L. Collier (Chair)

Hon. Clifton L. Corker

Hon. Charles E. Atchley, Jr.

Hon. Katherine A. Crytzer

Hon. Debra C. Poplin

Hon. Suzanne H. Bauknight

Ashley G. Arnold

David Disney

LeAnna R. Wilson

Carrie A. Stefaniak

Jenifer Ferrell (Liaison)

Weldon E. Patterson (ABOTA)

FBA Chapter Presidents:

Robert Wheeler

Joseph McAfee

Luke McLaurin

# **Internal Committees**

## **Budget Committee**

The Court's Budget Committee develops an annual spending plan, reviews special requests for expenditures, and ensures that expenditures are appropriate under the law.

### District Court

Hon. Clifton L. Corker (Chair)	USDC
Hon. Travis R. McDonough	USDC
Hon. Debra C. Poplin	USDC
LeAnna R. Wilson	USDC
Chris Field	USDC
David Disney	USDC
Joyce Merrell	USDC
Probation	
Hon. Clifton L. Corker (Chair)	USDC
Hon. Travis R. McDonough	USDC
Hon. Debra C. Poplin	USDC
Adrienne Simpson-Brown	TNEP
Dan Thornton	TNEP
Starr Rhodes	TNEP
David Sease	TNEP

# **Court Security Committee**

The Court Security Committee considers security issues and makes recommendations about how to improve safety for the Court, its staff, and participants in court proceedings.

Hon. Thomas A. Varlan (Chair)	USDC
Hon. Suzanne H. Bauknight	USBC
Hon. Cynthia R. Wyrick	USDC

LeAnna R. Wilson	USDC
Will Magill	USBC
Jeffrey Kestner	GSA
Trevor Erdmann	USMS
Leigh Hackney	FPS
Trey Hamilton	USAO
David Jolley	USMS
Paul Trask	USAO

## **Best Practices Committee**

This committee reviews practices and procedures in each of the Court's divisions and other districts and researches approaches in other districts. Its goal is to recommend ways to gain efficiency and to better serve the public.

Hon. Christopher H. Steger (Chair)

Hon. Debra C. Poplin

Hon. Cynthia R. Wyrick

Chris Field

Russell Eslinger

Jason Keeton

Kathy Keeton

Lindsey Lyle

Travis R. Thompson

## **ADR Programs Committee**

This committee administers mediation and arbitration programs pursuant to LR 16.4 and 16.5.

Hon. Christopher H. Steger (Chair)

Hon. Jill E. McCook

Samantha Clark

Lindsey Lyle

# Information Technology Committee

This committee facilitates training on new projects and technology and helps to disseminate related information throughout the Court and its staff.

Hon. Cynthia R. Wyrick (Chair)

LeAnna R. Wilson

Chris Field

David Disney

Amy Hickerson

David Sease

Travis R. Thompson