You are here


Local Rules Advisory Committee

There is one Local Rules Advisory Committee for the district. Its members include experienced federal practitioners from throughout the district. The Court strives to fill the Committee with a mix of attorneys in civil, criminal, private and government practice. Proposed amendments to the Court's local rules are transmitted by the Clerk of Court to the Committee for review and comment. The Committee also suggests amendments to the rules.
Donald J. Aho (Chair)
Cameron Hill
Jerry W. Laughlin
Jill McCook
Robert S. Peters
Kenny Saffles

Attorney Admissions Committee

There are Attorney Admissions Committees in the Chattanooga, Greeneville and Knoxville divisions. The members are chosen by the judges and represent experienced federal practitioners from a variety of practice areas. All applications for admission to practice in the Court are transmitted by the Clerk of Court to the appropriate Committee, which reviews the qualifications of the applicants and reports to the Court. E.D. TN LR. 83.5(a)(3).

Chattanooga Greeneville Knoxville
Harry R. Cash (Chair) F. Braxton Terry (Chair) Wade Davies (Chair)
Board of Governors, Chattanooga Chapter E. Lynn Dougherty R. Kim Burnette
Federal Bar Association Members Olen G. Haynes, Jr. Amanda Busby
  Sandra Jelovsek Anne McKinney
  Jessica McAfee Edward G. Phillips
    Adam M. Priest
    Howard Vogel

CJA Panel Selection Committees

Chattanooga Greeneville Knoxville
Honorable Travis R. McDonough Honorable Clifton L. Corker Honorable Katherine A. Crytzer (Chair)
Honorable Susan K. Lee Honorable Cynthia R. Wyrick Honorable H. Bruce Guyton
Elizabeth Ford Elizabeth Ford Honorable Debra C. Poplin
Robert R. Kurtz Robert R. Kurtz Elizabeth Ford
Gene Shiles, Jr. Doug Payne Robert R. Kurtz
Jamie Parks Varnell   Rachel Wolf

Court Technology Advisory Committee

There is one Court Technology Advisory Committee for the district. Committee members serve on a rotating basis and are selected by the judges from across the district with the purpose of selecting a variety of backgrounds, including prosecutors, criminal defense, civil plaintiff, civil defendant, government and private practice. The Committee meets quarterly via video conference.
David Disney (Chair)
Honorable Christopher H. Steger
Donald J. Aho
John C. (Jack) Burgin, Jr.
Dana Hansen-Chavis
Michael Curtis Collins
John Medearis
Matt Morris
Lane McCarty
LeAnna Wilson
To make recommendations to the District Court on a broad-range of technological matters, including facilitating the use of courtroom technologies to enhance courtroom presentations, and advising on matters related to state-of-the art and emerging technologies such as the web page, wireless technology, cell phone use, and CM/ECF and to take actions in furtherance thereof.
To recommend to the District Court the purchase of appropriate courtroom technologies.
To assist the District Court in developing training programs for members of the bar on use of courtroom evidence presentation equipment.
To educate attorneys about courtroom technology.
To serve as liaison with the bar associations to promote the use of courtroom technology equipment and to address attorney needs.
To keep abreast of state-of-the-art and emerging technologies, to evaluate the benefit of same to the Court and practitioners, and to advise the Court about use in Court.

Civics Education and Outreach Committee

Honorable Curtis L. Collier (Chair)
Honorable Clifton L. Corker
Honorable Christopher H. Steger
Honorable Suzanne H. Bauknight
Ashley Arnold (USDC)
David Disney (USDC)
Joseph McAfee (Greeneville FBA)
Luke McLaurin (Knoxville FBA)
John Medearis (USDC)
Donna Mikel (Chattanooga FBA)
Weldon E. Patterson (ABOTA)
Carrie Stefaniak (USDC)